Redemptive Moments are Special

In honor of the graduation of Elizabeth Byrd from Western Carolina University, May 12, 2018

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense
of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

Philippians 4:6-7 — The Message

Philippians 4:6-7 — The Message

Without a doubt, my favorite part of the Super Bowl is the Walt Disney World moment. As When You Wish Upon a Star plays, highlights from the game began to roll. You can probably quote the dialogue from memory. “[Insert name of famous star player/game MVP], you just won the Super Bowl. What are you going to do next?” The commercial ends with the aforementioned star player/game MVP exuberantly yelling, “I’m going to Disney World!!”

This morning, during the commencement exercises at Western Carolina University, I’m going to be thinking about that ad campaign and my daughter Elizabeth. Since she’s not given to attention-seeking
public celebration, she would never go for the video of highlights from her college career or the microphone being thrust in her face with the voice-over, “Elizabeth, you’ve just graduated with the Catamount Class of 2018, what are you going to do next?” She would give a wordless answer by simply bowing toward the camera so you could see, in full view, the top of her mortarboard emblazoned with the message “Next Stop – Disney!!”

Elizabeth has been accepted into the Disney College program, a semester long internship program where she’ll have opportunity to not only learn about what gives life to the magic of the Magic Kingdom, but also be a part of the magic itself. In addition to working full-time in one of the Disney theme parks, she will attend college level classes and have the chance to interact and engage with fellow program participants from all over the world. No indication yet if she has aspirations to be Minnie Mouse, but she would be a great fit if she decided to take that on as a challenge.
As I think about Elizabeth’s graduation, I find myself thinking about so much more than her acceptance in the Disney College program and the realization of her dream that has come true. I think abouthow grateful I am to be able to see this day because I am mindful that I have not been the best of fathers and it is a privilege for me to be welcomed and included in the life, activities and accomplishments of my children. It is a privilege. I am humbledby it.
It also gives me pause to think about the miracle that Elizabeth is. Elizabeth was diagnosed with leukemia when she was three and a half and endured a course of treatment lasting two and a half years.

One of my cherished memories of that time is of Elizabeth, swinging in a tire swing that hung from a long-since gone pecan tree. It was during the phase of her treatment when only a few strands of hair remained and her cap wouldn’t stay on her head. In the
midst of it all, she was undaunted and immeasurably happy, as evidenced by the magnificent smile spread across her face. I wish that I had possessed the faith to be able to see the significance and import of that smile.

Looking back, I believe it was an expression of Elizabeth’s spirit — indomitable and strong enabling her to struggle, to overcome and to gain victory over the disease that ravaged her little body.
There are, I believe, redemptive moments throughout our lives. Redemptive moments are when time and God’s grace remove past wrongs and shortcomings and all is right and complete. Redemption allows
me to approach this occasion with joy, without regret over past failings and missed opportunities. The occasion of Elizabeth’s graduation causes me to be grateful, filled with thankful reflections and hope-filled anticipations for her future.

Congratulations Sweet Pea! Thanks be to God!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment